Tags

, , , , ,

Recently I read somewhere, that I should make notes of what I read and review them from time to time. I decided to give it a try, since I read a lot and I think making such notes will be for me a way of remembering best ideas, quotes, or whatever from my books and magazines. I also decided to share those notes with you, in edited form as some have gotten pretty long. In many cases I copied whole passages without noting the page numbers, which is against good reference practices, but of course I will list title and author of a book (or article) where I got the notes from.

I do that with hope that at least some of you will reach for mentioned magazine or book when you will find my notes interesting. Ach, one more thing: small number of notes do not mean that the book or magazine was not good…

Here is what I noted from the book “Bad Science” by Ben Goldacre:

“…The reality is that this vast industry of nutritionism – and more importantly than anything, this fascinating brand of scholarship – is now penetrating, uncriticised, unnoticed, to the heart of our academic system, because of our desperation to find easy answers to big problems like obesity, our collective need for quick fixes, the willingness of universities to work with industry figures across the board, the admirable desire to give students what they want, and the phenomenal mainstream credibility that these pseudo-academic figures have attained, in a world that has apparently forgotten the importance of critically appraising all scientific claims…”

We all like quick fixes, and wouldn’t we all like a pill which would make us lose all that fat… I like that sentence as it points to dangerous fact – chasing a dream we forget about reason or science. We believe in what we want to believe in. And this happens not only in “nutritionism”.

And here excellent definition of incompetence:

“…They noted that people who are incompetent suffer a dual burden: not only are they incompetent, but they may also be too incompetent to assay their own incompetence, because the skills which underlie an ability to make a correct judgement are the same as the skills required to recognize a correct judgement…”

Replace incompetence with ignorance and it will fit too.

