Tags

, , , , , ,

I drive a lot. And since I seem to always drive too fast, I pay relatively high amount of penalties, either caught by speed trap cameras, or (luckily very seldom) by police. Lately I have found an app called Waze (check it out here) – and it helps. It is a navigation system with a twist. It is a kind of app like the most, as it is being updated constantly by users. Maps are edited by users and spread to all. Users mark location of police, speed traps, road works… anything. It is safer to drive with it as without and since I have it, I paid only once and that was when I was not using it. We all – us users – have some power. This is clear here.

The problem is of course that many countries try to have their own local versions of that app. In Poland for example there is one called Yanosik (this one to be found here) but I think you need to pay for it while Waze is free, German-speaking countries have Blitzer (here), etc. At a first glance there is nothing wrong with that. At a second… Well, such apps work by far better if there is more users contributing for them. It would be then clearly best if everyone contributed to one such app, especially that all of them have pretty much the same functionalities. The more such apps are in the world, the less those work.

We all have power and can use it for our good. More of us together can also do more. If those “driver friendly” apps do have to have their own country versions, why will they not share incoming information with each other? Isn’t it why those apps were created in the first place? That would help us all and choice of an app would be made on look and feel alone, not on content. And we would all pay less in fines. I guess though that common good is not that common.

