Tags

, , , ,

Many European (and not only) companies priding themselves on good service and quality of their product are nothing more than just a balloons full of hot air. We, consumers, are to be mesmerized by the excellent marketing strategies, by blowing up good opinions posted on the net and by targeted ignoring of bad experiences. Those are being buried under tons of whatever crap those companies come up with only to keep the rest of the public unaware. Apple does not repair their stuff, they replace it or force you to buy a replacement. Rimowa, producer of the “better” luggage, delivers faulty merchandise and takes two months to repair it (I am to receive mine next week – two months after I bought it). Manufacturer of whirlpools promises free of charge technician visit only to get it revoked, blaming everything on a “mistake”. Samsonite carry-on bag breaks and takes forever to get it repaired…

Those are just a few examples of a decay in services, which should (seemingly) reflect the price being charged for them. I have a feeling that those are nothing else but part of advertisement: repeat that you have a good service often enough and people will believe it. Just enough people to create a rumour, a legend. Those few who will experience bad service can be then swept under the rug, as the legend will keep them quiet.

This is all my fault. I went against my judgement and I myself became mesmerized by those practices. Some years ago I promised myself not to buy anything accompanied by an aura of “good product”. I broke that promise and now, because of recent experiences, I will definitely come back to it. Buy cheap shit and throw it away when it breaks – at least there will be no disappointments with quality, no hassles with returning the merchandise for repair, no discussions with service men. Throw away bad one and buy new one…

Sorry, I seem to have a bad run 🙂

