Tags

, , , ,

I am reading now a book titled “Vagabonding – An Uncommon Guide To the Art of Long-Term World Travel” by Mr. R. Potts, where he advocates long-term travel, something most of us dreamed or at least thought about, including myself. I agree with all what Mr. Potts writes in the book except a couple of points:

  1. Travelling alone is like going for a dive alone. In my opinion, the best experiences are those which you share, live through with someone else so you can re-live and talk about them afterwards. The best sunsets, best adventures can be pretty much your fantasy if there was no one next to you. Think of sex, you will get the idea.
  2. Not everyone can be a vagabond. Not everyone is built for that kind of travel, but if you want to find out, do it early, at least that would be my advice (I think also that if you start early, it becomes easier to continue, as you don’t accumulate a lot of commitments you’d have to get rid of later in life). You would then have enough time to recover (financially, socially and otherwise) should you find out that bumming around the world is not for you. Vagabonding is a way of life where from difficulties (or adventures, depending who you talk to) a better self is born. Any hardship in life has a chance of transferring your soul to something better, travelling just ads to it some positive background.

I dream about dropping it all and setting off to some land (whatever land) almost every day, but unfortunately my life is not only about me. There are some who depend on me and it is my duty to be here for them. Going off somewhere would be easy. But there is nothing wrong with travelling the world while using comforts of modern life, if you can. I have been lucky enough to be paid for great majority of my travel, and did manage to learn and experience a lot while doing it. Maybe I was not as close to the nitty-gritty of life as vagabonds are, but it was my choice and it remains such to this day. So if you cannot be a vagabond, don’t despair. However you choose to travel, open your eyes, ears and heart, be respectful and you will learn something and have a chance to become better (or maybe only wiser) person. One thing is certain: don’t rush, live it. Here I agree with Mr. Potts totally.

