Tags

, , ,

Recently I flew from Vienna to Thessalonica on an Austrian flight. On some previous flights I noticed an item (electronic) in an on-board Duty Free magazine which I finally decided to buy. But I was told that I cannot. Stewardess told me, that since this is a flight between two EU countries, I cannot buy anything. I was very surprised, since at the airport you can buy anything duty-free, with exception of cigarettes, even if you have a EU flight ticket. Why not on the airplane?

The mystery resolved itself during my return flight. This time stewardess told me, that I cannot buy that item, because Austrian does not carry anymore duty-free items on EU flights. Now that explained everything a bit better, but… why then have the duty-free magazines still on board flights, where you cannot buy anything? Why Austrian is false advertising? There is a sentence in magazine saying that you cannot buy anything on EU flight, but wouldn’t it be better to simply remove the magazines?

Possibly no, as that costs time (and consequently, money). I also presume, that purchases on board were not that popular and goods lying around in some airplane lockers represented value wasted (money tied). Both issues are valid enough, but Austrian, in its typical arrogant way, solved them without real regard for us, passengers. Two better solutions would be to remove duty-free magazines from the planes in EU flights; or negotiate better prices with suppliers, making purchases more attractive – the latter idea could also make purchases in the plane better over land duty-free shops.

