Tags

, , ,

Recently I have visited Wales for the first time and I am hooked. I always liked old-style pubs, hotels, houses – generally architecture – in rural areas of United Kingdom. But Wales is, as of now, my favourite. Unfortunately I was there for one day only, but… here it comes again… I want to go back! Even if just to shoot some better images, those below were taken with my iPhone.

This is the Great House Hotel in Bridgend, where I stayed one night:

049You can stay in rooms located in a small, detached house as in below image:

046aor in one of the nicely decorated rooms in the main house. Many doors in that property were marked with a red bow, to draw your attention to low ceilings. I ignored it in the morning, being still half-asleep, and woke up banging my head on the door frame… 🙂

035Here are some images from the hotel’s restaurant:

040 044and the nearby castle, of which there are many in Wales:

047We have lunched in the pub called “The Pelican in Her Piety” (website here), in great country-house atmosphere. Food was also good 🙂

053 054In order to get back to England, we had to cross this bridge (you need to pay to get in to Wales, leaving is free):

055and this nice double-rainbow accompanied us throughout some of the return journey to the Heathrow airport:

057

