Tags

, , , , , ,

In my post here I have mentioned (by the way, great) book by Daniel Kahneman, “Thinking, Fast and Slow”. I am reaching the end of it and I am starting to see that what I thought that were my rational decisions have a great chance of being biased gut feeling choices, which had (and possibly still have) very little to do with deliberation and conscious choice.

I am saddened by this and I am a little mad. I don’t wat to be governed by my uncontrolled feelings, I want to have more to say about my choices. I mean, I want to be able to control them better, to give them conscious base stemming from thought and free myself from biases, as much as I possibly can.

Kahneman’s book lists whole plethora of biases, framing, formulating and other problems which our two systems have to do with. But it does not really offer a clear system or advice of how we can fight them, it only makes us aware of their existence. As Chip and Dan Heath say in their new book (to be found here) being aware of the fact that you have a cold does not cure it. This book, called “Decisive”, will apparently offer such advice. I am looking forward to it, as I really would like to control (or train) my System 1 better.

