Tags

, , , ,

As a follow-up to my SOPA post, I thought a bit about the music and movie industries, which seem to be the ones hurting the most because of digital age, and I came up with a following idea. If you want to use it, go ahead, only please make me the CEO of your organisation 🙂

Possibly my idea has been already considered, but in all honesty, I haven’t heard about it, so maybe I am the first. Here it is:

Step 1: Stop making CDs, DVDs, Blue Rays etc. No one buys them anyway and if anyone does, those are being converted to digital files 10 seconds later. Or those are being used to test someone’s hacking ability when cracking all your security stuff. Benefit: you save money straight away.

Step 2: Produce music and movies only for cloud, but not to download from, only to listen or watch from. If anyone will record from this, quality will be poor and you will limit piracy to more acceptable levels (if any level is acceptable).

Step 3: design hardware to play your cloud stuff. A completely new era of players coming up, gentlemen. (Is Apple reading this? How about iCloud?!)

Step 4: design various commercial packages: rent, sale (with your own cloud) etc.

If I were you, Mr. Music Company, I would also stop selling to Apple and others. Just sit on your Cloud and cash in.

What do you think? I think I deserve a Nobel Prize 🙂

