Tags

, , ,

On Tuesday I fell down the stairs walking sleepy out of my attic bedroom, about half past eight in the morning. Whole day I was taking care of various chores, Wednesday and Thursday I went to work. But Thursday evening my foot was so swollen that I decided to go to the emergency room to have it checked. Two hours later my leg was heavily bandaged and I cannot walk – I ripped some tendons, although luckily bones are intact. One week of this plus five weeks with some metal support…

I am angry that I am so useless – a funny feeling, but possibly a result of me being always active. This limitations on my mobility pisses me off, especially that Christmas Eve is tomorrow and I would like to do something to help my wife in preparations. I can imagine what a grumpy old man I am going to be…

I enjoy those preparations immensely. Cooking the traditional soup, making dinner, dressing the tree… All those smells and atmosphere of expectations are bringing up childhood memories. Those memories are more valuable than even a bunch of presents – the whole Christmas spirit is in them. I don’t like commercial side of it, I think that chasing the next big gift kills what is really important in this time, which is simply sharing the best of you with all around you. Enjoy Christmas, I know that I will, no matter what.

